Mollie Makes – bonus autumn project!

It was a real treat to open my copy of Mollie Makes this month. Knowing my work is featured inside is incredibly exciting as I don’t know in advance how it will be photographed or how the pages will look. I did actually squeak when I found that I had the treat of having my leafy project featured on the first page too! Please let me know if you make any Liberty leaves, I’d love to hear how you get on.

As promised, I’ve got a little extra project for you. Rather than a single leaf shape, I thought it would be fun to make a whole sprig. This means you can mix fabric scraps to put autumn shades together. Help yourself to this free project with all the instructions and templates you need.

Free leaf project

I like the Mollie Makes idea of the leaves as bookmarks. I always love it when I’ve forgotten a flower or leaf I’ve pressed and come across it ages later in the pages of an old book. I have a few of the fabric leaves amongst the acorns and conkers I have in my current nature table display.

I’ve been reading the absolutely delicious new book, ‘Vintage Fowers’ by florist Vic Brotherson. It’s one of the most inspiring books I’ve read in ages. I love the way she collects old vases and containers and lets them inspire what she puts in them. I particularly admire the way she slips a silk or even ceramic flower among the real blooms in some of her displays. It’s like a little secret once you spot them. I was wondering if I could use fabric leaves in the same way. Haven’t quite figured out what would happen when the wire stems get soggy but I’m sure I can think of something.

10 Comments

Filed under Sewing

10 responses to “Mollie Makes – bonus autumn project!

  1. Such a lovely project. I bet you are so proud! I am in need of some new bookmarks as I have recently given up on my Kindle as I miss the feel (and smell) of a real book too much!

    Best wishes,
    Penny

  2. Peggie Sue

    Congrats! These little leaves are adorable. Thank you for sharing!

  3. Just found your blog via Mollie Makes and I love it! Thank you for sharing all your lovely projects. Donna

  4. Pingback: Liberty Fabric Autumn Leaves | So Many Crafts, So Little Time!

  5. Pingback: WeAllSew « http://weallsew.com

  6. kleine kleinigkeiten

    I love your work

    blanca

  7. Pingback: How to make Liberty fabric leaves - Mollie Makes

  8. Pingback: WeAllSew « http://weallsew.com

  9. Connie

    The download doesn’t seem to be working:(

  10. Marta Garcia

    I love your leaves!

Leave a comment