Marzipan overload

Even more Easter baking this week with not one but two Simnel cakes. Both are intended as gifts. I only hope they make it that far – the smell is driving me wild as I’ve just liberated the second one from the oven.

I don’t really have what they call a ‘signature bake’ but people do seem to enjoy and remember my Simnel cake. Always overexcited by a bit of praise, I felt duty bound to bake it again this year. I most often go for the traditional look, topping it with toasted marzipan balls but I thought I’d try something different this time. I found a lovely mini bunny cookie cutter and soon had rabbits chasing around the edge of the cake (typical of me that the cutter inspired a piece of embroidery before it made it into the kitchen). I was always a fan of the rabbits that chase around Bunnykins pottery. You can see the lovely two-handled mug that was my christening gift. When I got it down off the shelf, I found the little china bunny inside. I don’t know how long he’d been hiding in there but what an appropriate time for him to hop out!

Adding a real ribbon bow is always a satisfying way to finish a cake. I like the way releasing the ribbon adds to the ceremony of cutting into it. What I don’t like is when greasy marks appear through the ribbon. My solution was greaseproof paper. This refused to tuck neatly behind the ribbon so I decided to make a feature of it with the help of a Martha Stewart paper punch. Result: a very frilly, marzipan-laden cake. I do hope my recipients have a very sweet tooth.

8 Comments

Filed under Baking

8 responses to “Marzipan overload

  1. jencarrollva

    Jenny! You have truly, truly, truly outdone yourself!!! This is just the most adorable cake ever! I do have a question: OK, so being an uneducated Yank (tee-hee!) I have note heard of Simnel before… what is it?

    • Hi Jen, Simnel cake is a light fruit cake (oodles of sultanas, raisons, currents and cherries) traditionally baked around Easter and Mother’s Day. I hadn’t realised it’s only a UK thing. A crime, everyone needs to try it! Lots more info here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Simnel_cake
      Jenny
      x

    • Unfortunately Anti-semitism seems to be still popular in Germany, and if what you say about the ruling elite is true, then supporting Muslim population could be explained as a buffer to neutralize the jewish influence, but that does not mean that the "ruling elite" are islamizing Europe. They are simply making a balance between the two &qtr;uinfeoior races" in their community. Anyways I dont know why you exaggerate the govermental support towards Muslims immigration, from my perspective, its quite normal to facilitate immigration in a country in need of labour force, don't you think?

  2. Rosie

    This is too cute. Your attention to detail is just fabulous.

  3. Sounds delicious, I’m loving the Easter crockery too.

  4. Molly

    Love all of your Easter decorating! By the way, congrats on being a finalist on Spoonful! Your cupcakes and embroidery are the cutest decorations and Easter tempations I have seen! I hope you win!

  5. traceychalk

    I had bunnikins plates and cups as a child and have a few pieces. Love them!

Leave a Reply

