A present for baby Zack

I’d forgotten how much I love embroidery. I stumbled across this baby bib design by Charlotte Lyons and had to throw aside all other projects to give it a go. I made it for my good friend Rosie who had a baby boy just a week ago.  I’ve done my best to make it look suitable for a boy by working with blues and giving it a blue print backing fabric but most of the things I make seem to have a rather feminine feel. The outline design was lovely and quick to do but it was a bit of a leap of faith when it came to creating the bib shape and turning the fabrics right side out. It was a wrestling match to feed the whole thing back through a tiny channel but the sore fingers were worth it. Wear it with pride Zack, and try not to dribble too much!

3 Comments

Filed under Sewing

3 responses to “A present for baby Zack

  1. Rosie

    You know I want to frame this bib don’t you?! I don’t know if I can bring myself to use it on Zack – it’s too beautiful.

  2. It is gorgeous! I saw the template and instructions in the magazine, but like Rosie, if I made one I don’t think I’d be able to put it on baby, I’d want it framed! It’s so beautiful! I love the birdies!

  3. It’s absolutely darling! In MM, I altered the instructions a bit to make that turning easier- I laughed/cringed when I read your post because it was indeed a wrestle. Turned out beautifully- and congrats to you for the recent cover!

Leave a Reply

